You are here

Jennifer Doherty wins Distinguished Teaching Award

Wednesday, April 24, 2019 - 10:00

Congratulations to Jennifer Doherty on winning the University of Washington Distinguished Teaching Award!

The Distinguished Teaching Award is given annually to seven faculty members: five from the Seattle campus and one each from UW Bothell and UW Tacoma. Recipients are chosen based on a variety of criteria, including mastery of the subject matter; enthusiasm and innovation in the teaching and learning process; ability to engage students both within and outside the classroom; ability to inspire independent and original thinking in students and to stimulate students to do creative work; and innovations in course and curriculum design. Faculty members in Seattle who receive the Distinguished Teaching Awards are inducted into the University of Washington Teaching Academy. As Teaching Academy members, awardees are eligible to participate in a variety of Academy-sponsored projects and events to further excellence in the teaching and learning process at the UW. The Distinguished Teaching Award was established in Seattle in 1970 and in Bothell and Tacoma in 1995.

Fields of interest: